Secondary Sources by Subject: Disabilities

Practical guide for the attorney covering all aspects of the Americans With Disabilities Act.

These series analyzes the scope and nature of the obligations that Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) imposes upon almost every business in the nation to make reasonable accommodations to ensure their facilities, programs, goods and services are accessible to people with disabilities. Features an in-depth explanation of the steps public accommodations and commercial facilities must take in order to comply with the construction and alteration requirements of Title III.

This treatise offers unique perspectives of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act, and other disability rights laws. The authors lecture and speak on disability issues to attorneys, judges, administrators, advocacy groups, and members of the public and other special interest groups. They impart a combined experience of more than 50 years and provide a comprehensive discussion of complex disability issues.

Provides guidance needed to help your clients or a company comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and minimize litigation. Covers the employment and public accommodation provisions of the ADA in great detail. Examines statutory language, administrative regulations, common liabilities, means of accommodation, and the overlap of ADA with workers' compensation laws and the Family and Medical Leave Act.

This Nutshell presents an overview of the major federal disability laws with emphasis on the statutes, regulations, and significant points of substantive and procedural law.

Logically organized and readable discussion of the entire body of law affecting the mentally disabled. It provides thoughtful answers to practically every research, counseling or litigation problem that could conceivably arise in this area. Each chapter of this treatise contains practical checklists and commentary to highlight and clarify case authority. Extensively annotated, it contains a table of cases and cites hundreds of authoritative secondary sources.

Mental illness and intellectual disability impact 20% of Americans, and have enormous personal, legal, and policy implications for patients, families, and society. This Nutshell introduces you to the broad range of criminal and civil issues in mental health law, including diagnosis of mental illness; expert testimony on mental health issues; civil commitment; competence to stand trial; the insanity defense; various competencies; ethical/legal issues facing mental health professionals, including informed consent, confidentiality, privilege, and malpractice; discrimination against persons with mental illness; financial and medical benefits for disabled persons.

This manual presents the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) in easy-to-understand language and is a useful resource for ensuring compliance or handling litigation. In addition to a comprehensive review of ADA standards and litigation issues, it provides practical guidance in applying Title III of the law (public accommodations). Key topics covered include ADA requirements, entities covered by and exempted from Title III, constitutional challenges to Title III, barrier removal, new construction and alterations, auxiliary aids, federal certification, tax considerations, and enforcement.

Understanding Disability Law discusses important statutory and constitutional issues relating to disability discrimination. It is designed to help students in Disability Law courses synthesize and apply the materials they are learning. It is also designed to function as a compact treatise for practicing lawyers and others looking for an analysis of the Fourteenth Amendment, the Americans with Disabilities Act, section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, the Fair Housing Act Amendments, and other laws, as they relate to controversial issues of disability rights. The book discusses the leading cases on each of the major topics of disability law, and suggests ways of thinking about unresolved questions and debates over legal policy.

Medical Proof of Social Security Disability includes everything you need to present a comprehensive picture of a client's disability. It shows how to establish the requisite medical proof of a client claim using fundamental information such as anatomy and medical charts. In clear language, the text walks through the elements of proof of each of the Social Security listings.

This unique, all-in-one source offers pertinent medical analysis along with analysis of statutes, regulations, and case law, combined with practical advice, step-by-step guidance and numerous practice aids. . . in short, everything you need to effectively handle the constantly growing and ever-changing field of Social Security practice whether you are new to Social Security representation or a seasoned practitioner.

Figure out how to get retirement, disability, dependents, and survivors benefits, or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

The text guides you step by step through administrative procedure, from application to appeal, and describes sources for laws and regulations and where to check for recent changes. You'll also find forms, discussions of recent SSA amendments, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) changes, new rulings, and significant cases.

Social Security Disability Claims guides you through the disability claim process using the practice systems approach to managing claims.

Provides guidance of the claims process, from application to payment. Also contains comprehensive analysis regarding:
Regulations, Social Security rulings, acquiescence rulings, POMS, HALLEX, Dictionary of Occupational Titles, and caselaw.

All aspects of Social Security disability claims are covered in this title, from the first interview through an appeal to federal court.

Content ranges from an introduction to Social Security law to expert analysis of complex issues, such as:
Sequential evaluation of disability, Medical criteria for evaluating pain, Determining disability, Special due process requirements, Evaluation of particular impairments, and Substantial evidence. Research aids include a table of cases, a table of statutes, and a table of regulations.

Offers step-by-step guidance to handling claims. With it you'll learn how to handle a disability claim from the first interview through appeals and attorney fees. The book also offers in-depth analysis of medical proof requirements for determining specific disabilities and provides more than 80 forms.

This book is intended to provide a broad overview of Social Security law and practice. It covers the two main titles of the Social Security Act: Old Age, Survivors and Disability Insurance (OASDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI), with a special focus on the disability provisions of both programs.

This practice-oriented guide shows you, in directly applicable step-by-step form, how to meet the ADA legal requirements that affect employment policies and procedures. Includes Special Report: Eighth Circuit Highlights Importance of ADA Interactive Process.

This treatise offers you a comprehensive discussion of the law of disability discrimination and accommodation of employees with disabilities, along with checklists and forms for developing compliance strategies and defending litigated claims. A thorough treatment of the protections and remedies available under the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act, and other federal remedies for disability discrimination, this title also analyzes the disability discrimination laws of all 50 states and the District of Columbia, with coverage of parties, protected conditions, commencing the action, proof burdens, and remedies.

This treatise examines the applicable statutory scheme, limitations period, impact of pursuing parallel proceedings, and the standard by which key substantive issues are reviewed on appeal. Presents federal discrimination laws topically and scrutinizes applicable disability discrimination laws in every state. Litigation of claims is examined from both employee and employer perspectives; separate chapters explain trial procedures, remedies, and attorney’s fees. Also examines management and compliance practices and programs, including a cost-effective management plan from an in-house counsel’s perspective.

This guide is an indispensable resource for attorneys navigating conservatorship law in California. Covers all phases of conservatorship, estate management, accountings, and representing the conservatee. It's a must-have for legal professionals seeking in-depth knowledge and practical guidance in this complex and evolving area of law.

California Fair Housing and Public Accommodations provides a comprehensive treatment of the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA), the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the Unruh Civil Rights Act (Unruh), and related state and federal caselaw on the subjects of housing discrimination and public accommodations.

Keep up with the newest laws and trends with the best and most comprehensive resource on California guardianships law and practice.
Analysis of the need for a guardianship and discussion of alternatives, guidance on initiating guardianship proceedings, in-depth coverage of guardianships of the person and estate, explanations of jurisdiction and venue in probate guardianships, and more!

Understand complicated special needs trust issues and public benefit laws affecting persons with disabilities with the first book to completely cover this rapidly expanding field.