Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Rains Library open? The library is currently open to members of the Loyola Law School community. Note that visitors who are not current students, faculty, or staff are not able to utilize library spaces at this time. See additional Library FAQs.
The LA Law Library is open for legal resources and services, https://www.lalawlibrary.org/.
What resources are available to me remotely?
Many of our collections and services are accessible online. Reserve and reference materials are unavailable at this time.
- LLS and LMU Collections: Much of our collections are available electronically. Save time and search both library catalogs at once.
- E-Books: Search new LLS e-books as they are added to our collection.
- Online Study Aids: Visit the guides below for access to a variety of digital study aids.
- Study Aids - Use this guide to find digital study aids by subject.
- E-Book & Digital Study Aid Access - Use this guide to find e-books and study aids by publisher.
- Databases: The library offers a wide host of electronic databases so you can access a wealth of legal information from any location.
Is scanning available? Yes! Scanning is available in the Computer Lab.
How can I access course reserves? Print course reserves are now available for 2hr checkout and some course reserves are also available electronically: Spring 2023 Course Reserves.
How can I access past exams? Follow the steps below:
Step 1. Start here, or search by Instructor or Course Name, or gain access via Past Exams Libguide. If there are exams available, they will appear in a list of one or more hyperlinks.
Step 2. Select an exam from the list. You will be prompted to enter your full name and LLS 7-digit student ID number.
Step 3. The corresponding exam will appear in PDF format - download and read.
NOTE: If there are no past exams available, you will see the following course note: “NO PAST EXAMS AVAILABLE THROUGH THE LIBRARY.”
Do I need to return my print books? Yes, materials received by curbside pickup, mail, or materials checked out previous to our closure may be returned by mail or in person at the library. Please email circdesk@lls.edu for questions about renewals.
How can I get access to non-law databases through LMU? If you need access to a non-law e-resource (such as a database or e-book) through LMU, go to library.lmu.edu and when prompted, enter your LLS username and password to log in.
Need help?
For reference/research help and questions about Rains Library resources, please email reference@lls.edu.
- To set up a virtual appointment with a reference librarian, visit this link.
For questions about the library or library materials, please email circdesk@lls.edu.
We are committed to making sure you have the resources you need during this time. Please don't hesitate to contact us!
Forms @ the Library
Not sure which form you need? Contact circdesk@lls.edu.
More Digital Resources
- CALI (Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction) for supplementary class materials, including a full list of lessons.
- Access student authorization code (requires MyLLS login). Use this code to register for a CALI account.
- CALI Lessons Quick Start Guide (PDF)
- How to register with CALI (Video)
- CALI Overview Brochure (PDF)
- CALI Overview (Video)
- Checkpoint EDGE: LLS students who need to access Checkpoint EDGE (RIA Checkpoint) should follow registration instructions posted here. For issues with registering, email Suzie Shatarevyan at suzie.shatarevyan@lls.edu for assistance.
Additional Resources
- LAPL E-Media and Digital Content: Get FREE access to digital books, music, movies, and more from the Los Angeles Public Library.
- Don't have a library card? Register for an e-card to get immediate and unlimited access.
COVID-19 & Vaccination Updates
On-Campus Testing Information:
Vaccination Information:
For updated information on COVID-19 and LLS, please visit the LLS and LMU Together websites:
Coronavirus Databases
Westlaw COVID-19 Legal Resources and News
Provides access to COVID-19 related federal legislation, executive orders, administrative decisions, state legislation, state executive orders, cases, court orders, dockets, briefs, secondary sources and news.
Lexis Practice Advisor Coronavirus Research Kit
This resource kit provides an overview of practical guidance on the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) covered in many practice area offerings in Lexis Practice Advisor, including Antitrust, Bankruptcy, Capital Markets & Corporate Governance, Civil Litigation, Commercial Transactions, Corporate and M&A, Data Security & Privacy, Employee Benefits & Executive Compensation, Finance, Financial Services Regulation, Insurance, Labor & Employment, Life Sciences, Private Equity & Investment Management, Real Estate, Tax, and Trusts & Estates. It will be updated regularly with new content additions. It also contains links to related content about the novel coronavirus.
ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
This cross-disciplinary database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses, including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
Bloomberg Law In Focus: Coronavirus
Provides links to COVID-19 related news, regulations, laws & regulations. Also includes new materials on Leave & Benefits, Protections & Practices, Tax & Payroll Implications, and trackers for court responses, quarantine and public health laws, state employment, and COVID-19 health care legislative and regulatory alerts.