Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Secondary Sources on Immigration
When performing research in U.S. immigration law, secondary sources should be your first stop. These resources, though not generally citable, can provide essential grounding information and links to primary law.
General secondary sources in immigration law provide a broad overview in immigration topics. These sources may be quite extensive (see Gordon & Mailman, below) or concise (see Kurzban's one-volume overview.) Most of these works are available both in print at Rains Library and online via Lexis or Westlaw.
Immigration Law & Procedure by
Call Number: Main Stacks KF4819 .G6
At 20 volumes, Gordon and Mailman's looseleaf set is the most extensive secondary source available for immigration law. Updated quarterly, it is well-regarded amongst immigration scholars and practitioners and includes discussion of all major immigration law topics. The set also includes a number of primary documents, including UN Treaties, relevant presidential documents, regulations, statutes, and agency manuals, including the Foreign Affairs Manual and related documents.
Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law and Practice by
Call Number: Main Stacks KF4819 .F73 2015
Aimed at practitioners, this guide provides a concise analysis of immigration law and procedure by covering the necessary practical considerations and pointers for immigration practice. The work Iincludes excellent coverage of immigration structure in the U.S. and provides discussion of employment-based and family-sponsored immigration, as well as other grounds for immigration. Additional chapters address nonimmigrant matters, issues of refugees and asylum, removal of aliens, and administrative and judicial review.
Immigration Law Service by
Call Number: Main Stacks KF4815 .I45 2004
This looseleaf publication offers readers a concise overview of immigration law. It is divided by immigration classification and includes a number of primary source materials including the Immigration & Nationality Act, Presidential and Agency Documents, and relevant sections of the Foreign Affairs Manual.
Steel on Immigration Law by
Call Number: Main Stacks KF4819 .S74 1992
Publication Date: 1992
This one-volume treatise is a detailed and thoroughly researched publication covering all major immigration law issues. Includes discussion of nonimmigrant visas, permanent residence status cases, family-based and employment-based immigration, refugee and asylee matters, grounds of inadmissibility, admission and exclusion procedures. Also discusses removal grounds, procedures, and relief. The volume includes over 350 pages of immigration forms.
A Guide for Immigration Advocates by
Call Number: Main Stacks KF4819 .G85 2016 v.1
Publication Date: 2016
This guide provides an overview of legal authority in immigration and provides a number of useful features for a practitioner, including how-to guides, sample applications, charts, and other useful information.