California Court Forms
The California Judicial Council has developed forms for use in all California state courts. Mandatory forms are marked with "Form Adopted for Mandatory Use" in their lower left hand corner. Other forms are optional but will save you time and ensure you are using a form that complies with court rules.
Most local California state courts have also added their own supplementary forms for use within the local court.
Multiple websites and databases provide access to these forms:
- California Judicial Council FormsOfficial California judicial branch website that provides forms organized by category, name, and number. Includes a guide to filling out forms online.
- California Rules of Court- Title 1, Chapter 4Official court rules governing the use of Judicial Council Forms.
- Los Angeles Superior Court FormsOfficial Los Angeles Superior Court website that provides local forms for use in the L.A. Superior Court.
- California Courts Self-Help CenterOrganizes selected California Judicial forms by topic. To locate forms, select the topic you are interested in and then select forms (if available).
- LexisNexis Automated California Judicial Council FormsLexisNexis Automated Forms can be downloaded from Lexis Advance and filled out using free HotDocs software. They include a database of California Judicial Council forms.
- LexisNexis Automated Southern California County FormsLexisNexis Automated Forms can be downloaded from Lexis Advance and filled out using free HotDocs software. They include a database of local superior court from the Southern California counties.
- LexisNexis Automated Northern California County FormsLexisNexis Automated Forms can be downloaded from Lexis Advance and filled out using free HotDocs software. They include a database of local superior court from the Northern California counties.
California Court Sample Filings
The California court system and its individual districts provide free, online sample pleadings and motions, as well as guidance on drafting and filing them.
Note that LA is in the second district.
- California Judicial Council Forms- PleadingsThe California courts provide a few basic sample civil pleadings, listed on the drop down menu under "Pleading- General", "Pleading- Contract", "Pleading- Personal Injury, Property Damage, Wrongful Death", and "Pleading- Unlawful Detainer".
- Equal Access Project Instructional MaterialsExtensive guidance and selected sample pleadings provided by the California courts' Equal Access Project.
- Second District Civil Appellate ProceduresSample pleadings and motions from the Second District Civil Appellate division.
- Fourth District Appellate ProceduresSample pleadings from the Fourth District Civil Appellate division.
- Sixth District Appellate ProgramThe Sixth District Appellate Program is designed to help lawyers in the sixth district who have been appointed to help indigent clients. It provides sample motions and briefs.
Federal Court Forms and Sample Filings
The federal court system provides free online access to its forms and some sample filings. Most local federal courts also provide their own supplementary forms.
- United States Court FormsOfficial U.S. Courts website that provides forms organized by category, name, and number.
- Ninth Circuit FAQsThe Ninth Circuit's official website addresses common questions about the format of filings.
- Forms Accompanying the Rules of Procedure and EvidenceScroll to the bottom of the page to view sample appellate, civil, bankruptcy, and other forms, listed under the heading "Forms Accompanying the Rules of Procedure and Evidence." Includes the Illustrative Civil Rules Forms (below).
- LexisNexis Automated California Federal FormsLexisNexis Automated Forms can be downloaded from Lexis Advance and filled out using free HotDocs software. They include a database of forms from the California federal courts.
Other Jurisdictions
- LLRX Court Rules, Forms, & DocketsDirectory of over 1,400 official and unofficial websites of state and federal court rules, forms, and dockets. A good starting point if you are looking for court forms outside of California.