Legal Journals
In addition to Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg, LLS students have access to other useful databases for finding legal journals. LegalTrac is a great place to start your research because of its comprehensive coverage.
- LegalTrac (1980- )LegalTrac is an online index that contains listings for articles in over 1300 legal journals. The range of articles on LegalTrac is much more comprehensive than that of Westlaw, Lexis, or Bloomberg Law. Search by keyword in the top search box or use the Subject Guide search box to retrieve lists of sources by topic, including Law and literature (Jurisprudence).
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline's Law Journal Library provides pdfs of original legal journal articles dating back to the inception of the journals.
- Google ScholarGoogle for books and scholarly articles. Off campus, Google Scholar provides citations to articles and links to any free articles. On campus, Google Scholar links to all articles available from the law school or main library databases.
Literature and Humanities Journals
Loyola law students have access to all of the LLS databases as well as LMU Databases. Below are links to selected LLS and LMU databases containing periodical articles relating to literature and the humanities. To find other relevant subject specific databases from LMU's library website, follow the "Research Databases" link and then look under the "Arts & Humanities" category. Note that students must be on campus at LLS or LMU to access LMU databases.
- JSTORJSTOR offers interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- EBSCO Host Electronic Journals ServiceEBSCO EJS is a full-text searchable database with over 8000+ journals.
- Literature OnlineLiterature Online from Proquest is a fully searchable online library of more than 355,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 429 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- Literature Criticism OnlineLiterature Criticism Online (LCO) is an extensive compilation of literary criticsm delivered in an online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Provides scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
- Social Sciences Research NetworkThe Social Science Research Network provides free access to published papers and works in progress from scholars in various disciplines, including both law and literature.
- SAGE JournalsSAGE Journals online provides access to over 1,000 titles, including the humanities, sciences, social sciences, and more.
- Project MuseProject MUSE provides 100% full-text online access and deep indexing to a selection of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDirectory of peer reviewed non-legal journals available free online.
