Ethical Lawyering: Treatises

Volume 1, Chapter 1 discusses attorneys and their ethical obligations

The Attorneys at Law section discusses professional responsibility.

Provides quick and reliable answers to lawyering and ethical issues commonly facing attorneys in the day-to-day practice of law. Written for both civil and criminal practitioners, this practice guide contains clear, concise explanations of all relevant provisions of the State Bar Act and the California Rules of Professional Conduct, as well as detailed coverage of lawyer discipline and State Bar Court proceedings.

Provides a thorough explanation and analysis of United States law concerning lawyers. Compiled by a panel of judges and scholars, it offers analysis, systematization, and guidance pertinent to the law governing law practice.

The Law of Lawyering by Geoffrey C. Hazard, W. William Hodes, Peter R. Jarvis shows how to approach concrete problems that arise in everyday practice while staying within the letter and spirit of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct. It provides the full text of each Model Rule provision in sequence, followed by the authors' guidance and commentary, which put the rule into context, help identify its key features, and show its relation to other Rules and the ALI's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawyers. Clear, realistic examples demonstrate how each Rule applies in practice.

This comprehensive volume on professional ethics gives you current information from a variety of sources. It is effectively organized around the American Bar Association's Model Rules, which many states have adopted, and the ABA's Judicial Code. This reference combines Rotunda and Dzienkowski's thorough understanding of the current ethical climate, with the authors' all-encompassing commentary and discussions, and references to the American Law Institute's new Restatement of the Law.

Provides comprehensive treatise coverage on legal malpractice liability, prevention, litigation, and insurance.