Skip to main content

Business Resources for Lawyers: Bloomberg Law

This is a guide to resources for business and company research. It will focus on electronic resources accessible freely on the Internet and on databases available through the law library or LMU's main campus library.

Company Report Writer

Using the "browse all content" feature, choose "business intelligence" and then find the link to the Company Report Writer.  This database permits you to create a "quick" or "custom" report, that will search for the following information:

  • Company Overviews: Includes a one-page summary with a brief description of the company's business and key data such as country of incorporation, industry, and market capitalization.
  • Issuer Credit Ratings: Includes three latest ratings/rating changes from Standard & Poor's, Moody's and Fitch, when available.
  • Historical Price, Volume, and Earnings Data: Displays quarterly price and volume information for the last 12 months, when data is available. Earnings (EPS) data is displayed for the last 4 quarters.
  • Recent Litigation: Displays the 25 most recent dockets associated with the company.
  • Company Management: Displays executives, board of directors, committees, executive compensation, changes and interlocks data.
  • Financial Results: Displays financial data for the last four quarters, when available. Includes income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and key ratio data.
  • Debt and Equity Offerings: Displays most recent public offering data, when applicable, and 20 of the most recently announced corporate bonds, preferreds and loans still active in the marketplace.
  • Holdings: Displays the 20 largest insider and institutional stock holders. This section also includes one year's worth of historical institutional holdings data, when available.
  • Subsidiaries: Displays list of major subsidiaries. Note, a company must own at least 50% of the subsidiary for Bloomberg to recognize it as a major subsidiary.
  • Corporate Actions: Displays corporate actions occurring during the last 12 months.
  • Recent Filings: Displays the 50 most recent filings.
  • Company News: Displays the 10 most recent Bloomberg news stories about the company.

Company Watchlist/Lookup

Using the "browse all content" feature, choose "business intelligence center" and then find the link to Company Lookup in the "competitive tools" box.  There is a current awareness feature that will send you notifications when any news or reports about a company are added to the database.

Company Screener

Using the "browse all content" feature, choose "business intelligence" and then find the link to Company Screener.  This database permits you to search for companies using several criteria:

"Location & Industry" allows you to specify Country of Domicile, State of Domicile and Industry.  All fields feature auto-complete functionality.

"Company Name & Descriptor" allows you to search for companies based on keywords contained in the company name or description.

"Financial & Trading" allows you to specify trading status, exchange criteria and financial criteria of a company you are researching.

"Company Debt Profile" allows you to specify the debt distribution of the company, e.g., search for companies that have more than a certain amount of debt maturing within a specified time period.

 

Business Development

Using the "browse all content" feature, choose "news and analysis," "News from Bloomberg Terminal" and then find the link to latest news. Using the "advanced" search option permits you to create a news search alert using a number of different search criteria.  This is an excellent way to automatically receive news about particular companies or industries.