Books & Treatises
- Information Security & Privacy: a Guide to Federal and State Law ComplianceCall number: online access only
Available only in print
- Cambridge Handbook of Surveillance LawCall Number: KF 5399 .C36 2017
- Cybersecurity & Privacy Law in a Nutshell byCall Number: KF 209 .N8 C99 2019 (Law Main Corridor East)
- Federal Trade Commission: Privacy Law & PolicyCall Number: KF 1611 .H66 2016
- Privacy's Blueprint: the Battle to Control the Design of New TechnologiesCall Number: KF 1262 .H37 2018
- Privacy and the MediaCall Number: KF 1263 .M43 S65 2018
- Privacy Law in a Nutshell byCall Number: KF209.N8 P735 2014
- Proskauer on Privacy byCall Number: KF 1263 .C65 P762 (2d edition)
- Surveillance and the law byCall Number: K3264.C65 M87 2019
Articles
Articles on the topics of privacy and data security can be found in a wide variety of sources. The following periodicals and current legal news resources are dedicated to the subjects of either privacy law or data security,or regularly publish articles on those topics. Berkeley Technology Law Journal full-text access through Heinonline, Westlaw and LexisAdvance Cyberspace Lawyer full-text access through Westlaw Financial Privacy Law Guide Report full-text access through Wolters Kluwer Cheetah database I/S: a Journal of Law and Policy for the Information Society full-text access through Heinonline and LexisAdvance John Marshall Journal of Information Technology and Privacy Law full-text access through Heinonline, Westlaw and LexisAdvance Privacy & Data Security Law News full-text access through BloombergLaw Privacy & Security Law Report full-text access through BloombergLaw U.S. Cybersecurity Law Report full-text access through Wolters Kluwer Cheetah database BCLT eJournal on Information Privacy Law The Berkeley Center for Law & Technology has an eJournal on Information Privacy Law on the SSRN database. Privacy Law Commons BEPress maintains this collection of several thousand law journal articles made available to the public through open access repositories. Articles related to privacy are grouped in the Privacy Law Commons
Searching for articles and books
- Legal Resource Index (LegalTrac)LegalTrac is an index to more than 1,300 English-language law reviews, legal newspapers & bar journals. In addition to keyword searching, subject heading searching is available on a wide number of topics of privacy and data security law.
- Legal SourceLegal Source contains indexing and full-text access to a very wide variety of legal publications, including articles, books, and newsletters. Coverage begins in the early 1900's. In addition to keyword searching, use the Thesaurus link in the top left corner to retrieve list of sources by subject.
- Subject heading searching in the library catalogAll books held by the library are assigned one or more subject-headings. Using these subject headings can be a very efficient way to find books on a topic.
Some of the most useful subject headings are:
Privacy, Right of -- United States
Data Protection -- Law and Legislation -- United States
Data Protection -- United States
Electronic surveillance -- United States
Computer Security -- Law and Legislation -- United States
American Law Institute
- Principles of the Law, Data PrivacyThe American Law Institute (ALI) is a very well-respected organization that has greatly influenced the development of U.S. law. The ALI recently approved the draft of these principles which are intended as guidance on the development of privacy laws and practices, The principles are described as follows: "This project is directed towards a variety of parties at the federal and state levels, including legislators, attorneys general, administrators at governmental agencies, and other regulators and policymakers. These Principles are also directed towards private actors, who can draw on them for guidance about best practices. Finally, the Data Privacy Principles present guiding concepts in this area of law in a fashion intended to be helpful to international policymakers to assess available U.S. privacy safeguards."