Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations: Introduction to the UN

Get Research Help

Drop In Hours
Monday-Thursday: 10 a.m.-7 p.m.
Friday: 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
View this week's drop-in hours

Contact Information

Broken Link or Error? Contact Amber.

This guide was created by Caitlin Hunter and is now maintained by Amber Madole. 

Notice a broken link or error in this guide? Please contact

Structure of the United Nations

The United Nations was established by a 1945 treaty called the Charter of the United Nations:

The Charter establishes six main organs (also called principal organs) of the United Nations:

Most main organs have dozens of subsidiary organs and other subsidiary and related bodies. Major UN subsidiary and related bodies you may encounter in legal research include:

Chart Showing Structure of the United Nations