Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections of International Law Documents
Today, most international law organizations make their documents readily available online. However, before and during the early days of the internet, many international law documents were difficult to find. Several scholarly organizations and universities stepped in to create print publications and websites compiling international documents. Although most of these documents are now available from the organizations themselves, the unofficial publications and websites remain useful for their ability to simultaneously search the documents of multiple organizations and as directories pointing users to the documents on the organizations' websites.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Extensive and expanding collection of international court and arbitral decisions and domestic court decisions on international law issues, accompanied by headnotes summarizing the facts and holding of each case. One of the best starting points for international case law research.
World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Unofficial collection of international and foreign legal documents and directory to international organizations' and foreign governments' websites. Although this website is generally a few months to a few years behind the websites of the organizations and governments, it allows you to search sources from multiple organizations at once for free and can help you locate relevant international organizations' and foreign governments' websites.
Unofficial collection of opinions by various international courts. Although this website is generally a few months to a few years behind the websites of the individual courts, it allows you to search cases from multiple courts at once for free and can help you locate the international courts' websites.
International Legal Materials
Call Number: 2nd Floor Row 248B
Publication Date: 1962-
Journal providing text of selected international law documents, including treaties, decisions of international courts and arbitral tribunals, and domestic cases and statutes on international law issues. ILM was founded by the American Society of International Law in 1962 to provide attorneys with access to primary source documents of particular significance to international law. Each document is accompanied by an explanation of its context and significance.
ASIL's Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL)
Directory of international law documents available online, created by the American Society of International Law. Although no longer regularly updated, the directory can help you locate documents from both international organizations' websites and unofficial sources.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Collection of international human rights documents, created in the early days of the internet before the international organizations themselves made their documents available online. Allthough most documents are now available from the international organizations' website, UMHRL provides backup copies and links to relevant materials on the organizations' own websites.
Multi-National Administrative Materials- Westlaw
Collection of international documents available from Westlaw.