Books on Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reference KZ1160 .M39 2012Peer-reviewed articles on major international law subjects, written by international law scholars and practitioners.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Basement/LC JC571 .E673 2009Articles on human rights theory, practice, law, and history by human rights scholars and experts.
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Reference KZ1161 .P37 2009Publication Date: 2009-10-02Definitions of terms commonly used in international law, helpful for looking up unfamiliar international legal jargon.- International Encyclopaedia of Laws
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Print call number varies by topic- click book icon to view each topicInformation on international law and foreign law of each country on a range of topics, from civil procedure to intellectual property law to torts. - Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Main Stacks K50 .O94 2009
For more treatises, consult a research guide or check:
- Multi-National Treatises- Westlaw
This link opens in a new window
Restatements and Other American Law Institute Publications
The American Law Institute (ALI) is an organization of prominent American legal scholars who publish restatements (summaries) of U.S. case law on a wide variety of topics. Because ALI is generally written by U.S. scholars with an emphasis on U.S. law, international courts and tribunals are less likely to find its works persuasive but U.S. courts find its work extremely persuasive and the U.S. Supreme Court routinely cites the Restatements on international law issues.
Restatements on international law include:
Restatement of the Law, Second: Conflict of Laws by 
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law Main South ; KF395.C66 R47Originally published as part of ALI's original first series of Restatements and revised and republished as part of ALI's second series of Restatements. ALI is currently revising it for inclusion in its third series of Restatements but has not yet released drafts.- Restatement of the Law, Third: The Foreign Relations Law of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Main Stacks KF395.A2 F764 1987Originally published as part of ALI's second series of Restatements and revised and republished as part of ALI's third series of Restatements. Currently being revised as part of ALI's fourth series, with draft fourth Restatements available on Westlaw and in print. - Restatement of the Law, Third: U.S. Law of International Commercial Arbitration
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Main Stacks KF9085.A15 R472 2010Not yet completed but planned as part of ALI's third series of Restatements, with drafts currently available on Lexis and Westlaw and in print.
In addition to the Restatements, ALI produces other legal publications covering international law issues:
- Legal and Economic Principles of World Trade Law
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Main Stacks K4610 .L43 2012 - Intellectual Property: Principles Governing Jurisdiction, Choice of Law & Judgments in Transnational Disputes
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Main Stacks K7550 .I58 2008
Journal Articles on International Law
Many journal articles on international law can be found the same way you would find any journal article, by searching Legal Source, HeinOnline, Lexis, and Westlaw:
- Legal SourceSearches legal articles and books from the early 1900s onwards. Search by keyword or click Thesaurus in the top left corner to retrieve lists of sources by subject.
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library Advanced SearchSearches legal articles from the 1800s onwards. The most comprehensive full-text database of legal periodicals.
- Lexis Law Reviews and Journals- International LawLaw reviews are available under Secondary Materials > Law Reviews and Journals. Click International Law for journals focused on foreign and international law topics.
- Westlaw Law Reviews & Journals- International JournalsLaw reviews are available under Secondary Sources > Law Reviews & Journals. Journals specifically on international and foreign law are available under International Materials > International Journals.
However, for even more in-depth coverage specifically of foreign and international law, you should also check:
- Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsA specialized index that searches articles on foreign, international, and comparative law. It includes both foreign legal journals and U.S. legal journals that focus on foreign and international law issues. It provides links to any articles available on HeinOnline and, more importantly, citations to many articles that are only available in print and are otherwise not searchable.
For more guidance on locating journal articles, please see: