Library Resources
The Early-Career Guide for Attorneys by Call Number: KF297 .L37 2018An objective guide for the third-year law student and the new associate to be successful. By knowing in advance the challenges that you will face heading into your first year of practice, you can ease the transition from law school to the practice of law and be on a path to success.
Get Research Help
On Demand Reference Assistance
Members of the LLS community may request reference assistance via phone, email, in-person, or Zoom.
Please check our current hours here.
Contact Information
reference@lls.edu
213.736.1177
Members of the public should contact the LA Law Library for legal resources and services.
Broken Link?
Is there a broken link? Something missing? Suggestions? Contact Christina Boydston at christina.boydston@lls.edu
About This Guide
This series provides a review of legal research topics, tips for using Word and Adobe in a law firm setting, and resources on writing and grammar. It is designed to help students in summer positions and new attorneys entering practice.
You May Also Like
- Career Success GuideStart your career off right with the library's guide to books and other resources on career success.
- Researching Firms and JudgesThe Loyola law library's guide to researching law firms and judges prior to interviews.
- Loyola Career Development OfficeJob search resources; mock interviews; advice on resumes and cover letters; and more.
- Lexis+: Summer Associate Resource Kit: Civil LitigationThis resource kit provides a list of key resources covering major civil litigation related tasks that you will typically work on as a summer associate.
- Lexis+: Summer Associate Resource Kit: Corporate and M&AThis Resource Kit provides a list of key resources covering major tasks in corporate acquisitions that you will typically work on as a summer associate. This section includes practice notes, templates and checklists that provide step-by-step practical guidance, which will help you successfully complete your summer assignments and stand out among your peers.
- Lexis+: Summer Associate Resource Kit: Labor & EmploymentThis resource kit provides a list of key resources covering major labor-and-employment-related tasks that you will typically work on as a summer associate. This section includes practice notes, templates, and checklists that provide step-by-step practical guidance, which will help you successfully complete your summer assignments and stand out among your peers.
- Lexis+: Motion Practice Resource Kit (CA)This resource kit provides an overview of how to make and oppose a motion in a California superior court civil case, and it includes links to Practical Guidance resources on each of these topics.
- Lexis+: Civil Litigation Fundamentals Resource Kit (CA)This resource kit provides an overview of important topics attorneys should understand when litigating a case in California superior court. It includes key resources providing step-by-step guidance on fundamental civil litigation tasks that you will typically work on in a California superior court litigation, including detailed practice notes, templates, and checklists.
- Lexis+: Civil Litigation Fundamentals Resource Kit (Federal)This resource kit provides an overview of important topics attorneys should understand when litigating a case in federal court. It includes key resources providing step-by-step guidance on fundamental civil litigation tasks that you will typically work on in a federal court litigation, including detailed practice notes, templates, and checklists.