Get Research Help
On Demand Reference Assistance
Monday-Friday: 10 a.m.-5 p.m.
Please feel free to call or email us (below) for assistance. If you have a larger research question, please contact us to set up an in-person or Zoom appointment.
Contact Information
reference@lls.edu
213.736.1177
About Dockets and Court Documents
A docket is a list of all of the court documents filed in a specific case in a specific court. A case will have at least one docket for each court where it is litigated. For example, a case that is filed in LA Superior Court, transferred to Central District of California trial court, and then appealed to the Ninth Circuit would have an LA Superior Court docket, a Central District of California docket, and a Ninth Circuit docket, each listing the documents filed in that court.
Common court documents include complaints, answers, motions, petitions, and briefs. More rarely, courts will also make transcripts or recordings of trials and oral arguments.
To learn more about dockets, see the pages under Understanding Dockets:
Finding Dockets and Court Documents
To find dockets and court documents, start by checking the standard legal databases you already use:
- Bloomberg for DocketsYour best bet for dockets and court documents from the early-2000s onwards. For law students, faculty, and staff, Bloomberg retrieves documents from the federal PACER system for free. Bloomberg also retrieves a limited number of free documents from state court websites and provides free access to any documents previously purchased by other Bloomberg users.
- Lexis for DocketsBoth Westlaw and Lexis provide selected federal and state court dockets and court documents, including some state court documents and 1980s, 1990s, and early 2000s documents not available on Bloomberg.
Many state court documents and documents prior to the 1980s aren't available on Bloomberg, Lexis, or Westlaw. Try these resources for additional options:
- Other Databases and MicroficheSpecialized databases and microfiche provide deep historical coverage of cases dating back to the 1600s.
- Free WebsitesFree websites are not always reliable and usually focused on recent and/or high profile cases. However, some libraries and other trustworthy organizations have initiated major projects to scan historical California state court and Ninth Circuit briefs.
If you can't find what you're looking for in library databases and free resources, it's time to go to the source:
- Courts and Court WebsitesDockets and court documents from the last few decades are available on court websites or in person at the courthouse. However, with a few exceptions (such as New York state trial courts), most courts charge a fee or require you to visit in person.
- Archives and DepositoriesOlder dockets and court documents are preserved at archives and depository libraries. Most archives and depositories charge a fee or require you to visit in person.
- Document Delivery ServicesFor a fee, document delivery services will retrieve documents on your behalf, visiting courts, depository libraries, and archives for you.
Finally, it's important to realize that some court documents will never be possible to obtain, no matter how many databases you search. In particular:
- Parties may successfully petition to seal court documents, preventing anyone outside of the case from viewing them.
- Older documents may be destroyed, damaged, or simply lost.
Finding Transcripts and Recordings
For transcripts and recordings of trials and oral argument, you'll need to use some special resources:
- US Supreme Court Transcript & RecordingsResources specifically for the US Supreme Court.
- More Transcripts & RecordingsResources for all courts and resources specifically for state courts and lower federal courts in California.