Get Help First!
If you are a Loyola Law student, alumni, faculty member, or staff member, we encourage you to contact a reference librarian before purchasing any files from a court, archive, or depository. We may be able to help you locate the document more cheaply elsewhere.
Get Research Help
On Demand Reference Assistance
Members of the LLS community may request reference assistance via phone, email, in-person, or Zoom.
Please check our current hours here.
Contact Information
reference@lls.edu
213.736.1177
Members of the public should contact the LA Law Library for legal resources and services.
About Archives and Depositories
Usually, dockets and court documents are kept at the courthouse for a few years after the case is closed. Eventually, however, they are transferred to archives- warehouses that store thousands or even millions of paper files.
Most Courts of Appeal and Supreme Courts also send copies of major court filings, such as briefs, to depositories- libraries that provide public access to court records and other government documents.
For a fee and with a sufficiently detailed citation, most archives and depositories will retrieve print dockets and court documents from storage and scan and send them to you.
Most archives and depositories also allow you (or a document delivery service hired by you) to visit in person and scan the files yourself for free. Usually, you will need to contact archives before visiting so that they can retrieve the files from storage.
Federal Court Records at Archives
Older federal court records are archived at National Archives (NARA) locations across the country. Usually, the best first step to obtain archived federal court records is to identify the NARA location that keeps records for the court where the case was heard and then email the archive with the case name and docket number to confirm that they have the case.
- National Archives at San Francisco (San Bruno)Purchase archival records of Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, Northern District of California, and Eastern District of California cases.
- National Archives at RiversidePurchase archival records of Central District of California and Southern District of California cases.
- Directory of National Archives Court RecordsLists locations of federal court records by state and Court of Appeal.
- National Archives CatalogSearch the name of a court (e.g. Central District of California) to find catalog entries identifying where its records are located. Search the name of a case to check if it is one of the handful of high-profile cases NARA has scanned and posted online.
Most NARA locations will provide scans of court records for the greater of $90 (for a single case file up to 150 pages) or $.80 per page (for larger case files).
NARA's website provides forms for purchasing archived court records but different NARA locations vary in how strictly they require you to fill out the form. Some locations are happy to send scans if you email them to provide the case name and docket number and call them to provide your credit card information. Other locations require you to complete and fax them the full form, including contacting the court that decided the case to obtain its transfer and box number.
- NARA Order Forms for Email, Fax, and MailMany NARA locations require you to email, fax, or mail them these standard order forms. They may or may not require you to contact the court to obtain the transfer or box number.
- NARA Online Order FormNARA's online order form requires you to provide transfer and box numbers and will not allow you to purchase court records that cost more than $90 (150 pages). As a result, it is usually easier to email the appropriate NARA location directly.
Federal Court Records at Depositories
The U.S. Supreme Court and Ninth Circuit websites list depositories for their briefs:
Depositories of U.S. Supreme Court and Ninth Circuit briefs include:
- UC Hastings Records and Briefs CollectionCollects U.S. Supreme Court, Ninth Circuit, California Supreme Court, and California Court of Appeals briefs. Both law schools and law firms can request briefs through interlibrary loan. If you are a current Loyola law student, faculty member, or staff member please ask a Loyola reference librarian for advice on requesting an interlibrary loan.
- 9th Circuit Court of Appeals CollectionUC Hastings Law LIbrary has posted many of its Ninth Circuit briefs for free online. Check for your case here before requesting it from UC Hastings.
- University of Washington Supreme Court BriefsCollects U.S. Supreme Court briefs from 1832 to the present. Provides scans for a fee.
- University of Washington Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals BriefsCollects Ninth Circuit briefs from 1892 to 2008. Provides scans for a fee.
- New York Bar Association Records on AppealCollects federal appellate briefs, including Ninth Circuit briefs from 1891 to 2001. Provides scans for a fee.
- LA Law Library Ninth Circuit BriefsCollects selected Ninth Circuit briefs. Provides scans for a fee.
California Court Records at Archives
California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Records are archived at the California State Archives:
- California State Archives Research and Reference ServicesEmail or call the California State Archives with the case name and docket number to confirm that they have the case and purchase copies.
- Archival California Supreme and Appeals Court RecordsClick the links under Finding Aids to view lists of available records collections by court and date.
California trial court records are archived at the county level. Check the website for the relevant superior court for information on accessing archival records:
California Court Records at Depositories
The California Court of Appeals website lists depository libraries for California briefs:
Depositories include:
- UC Hastings Records and Briefs CollectionCollects U.S. Supreme Court, Ninth Circuit, California Supreme Court, and California Court of Appeals briefs. Both law schools and law firms can request briefs through interlibrary loan. If you are a current Loyola law student, faculty member, or staff member please ask a Loyola reference librarian for advice on requesting an interlibrary loan.
- San Diego California Brief DepositoryCollects California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals briefs dating back to 1895. Provides scans for a fee.
- Alameda Law Library California Brief DepositoryCalifornia appellate briefs from the 1990s to the present are available electronically. Earlier briefs are on microfiche.
- Witkin Law Library California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals BriefsThe California State Library, located in Sacramento, provides in-person access to California Supreme and Court of Appeals briefs dating back to 1863.