Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important materials published by the Governor include:
- Executive orders: statements by the governor that instruct government agencies to take specific actions.
- Proclamations: ceremonial statements, typically declaring a holiday or a state of emergency.
- Signing and veto statements: formal statements explaining the Governor's decision to sign or veto a bill.
Title 6 of the California Code of Regulations was set aside for the governor to publish his materials, just as the President publishes his materials in Title 3 of the CFR. However, no governor has ever used it.
Instead, try these sources:
California Executive Orders, Current Governor
Executive orders by the current governor, provided by the California Governor's website.
Proclamations by Current California Governor
Proclamations by the current governor, provided by the California Governor's website.
California Executive Orders, 2011-2018
Executive orders 2011-2018, saved from the California Governor's website by the Internet Archive.
Proclamations by California Governors, 2011-2018
Proclamations 2011-2018, saved from the California governor's website by the Internet Archive.
California Executive Orders, 1999-2010
Executive orders 1999-2010, saved from the California Governor's website by the Internet Archive.
Proclamations by California Governors, 2003-2010
Proclamations 2003-2010, saved from the California governor's website by the Internet Archive.
California Executive Orders and Proclamations, 1849- present
The State Archives maintains collections of proclamations since 1849 and executive orders since 1947, available for a small copying fee.
California Executive Orders and Proclamations, 1849-1990
Many libraries own microfiche of the State Archives' collection of executive orders and proclamations from 1849 to 1990. The microfiche can be obtained via interlibrary loan
California Legislative Information- Bills 1999-Present
To view a veto or signing statement, locate the individual bill, then click the tab labelled "Status." Any statement will be located at the bottom of the page.
California Legislative Information- Bills 1993-2016
Bills from 1993 to 1998 have not yet been added to the legislature's new website, but remain available here. Any veto or signing statement will be located at the end of the bill's page.