Secondary Sources by Subject: Bankruptcy

quick reference guide for anyone who deals with a bankruptcy case including judges, lawyers, paralegals, credit managers, collection agents, professors, law students, and others participating in bankruptcy cases or study. It has been updated to incorporate the latest and most relevant Code and Rule changes. The Checklist is organized by chapter of the Bankruptcy Code (i.e., 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, and 15), and, within each chapter, by Code section, with additional sections covering those items typically needed upon the filing of a case, rules on adversary proceedings, appeals, and notices.

This guide offers extensive descriptions and analyses of applicable bankruptcy statutes, rules and regulations, cases, and substantive and procedural law. Contains a useful index with entries listed under both standard legal terms and descriptive words. Provides authoritative analysis of Employment and Compensation of Professionals, Tax Consequences of Bankruptcy, Trustee's Avoiding Powers and creditor's reclamation rights, what constitutes the property of an estate, Collection and Turnover of Property, executory contracts and Unexpired Leases, Asserting Claim or Interest, Allowance or Disallowance of Claim, Disclosure Statements, Discharge of debtor, Closing and Reopening a Case, and more.

This classic student text, used by tens of thousands of law students for almost 50 years, has been revised to reflect changes in the Bankruptcy Code, changes in case law, changes in bankruptcy practices, and changes in bankruptcy casebooks.

This resource provides a concise discussion of the Bankruptcy Code and Rules for the non-specialist.

Designed for business and consumer bankruptcy specialists and general practitioners. It provides timely information regarding statutory changes and judicial decisions affecting bankruptcy issues. Topics covered include: Consumer and business liquidation cases under Chapter 7, Business reorganization under Chapter 11, Chapter 13 debt adjustments for individuals with regular income. You’ll also find thousands of case citations, numerous practice pointers, and authoritative commentary.

Long recognized as the most authoritative and comprehensive single source of bankruptcy law information, Collier on Bankruptcy from Matthew Bender®, has been cited in federal and state cases over 30,000 times, including 125 U.S. Supreme Court cases.

The Municipal Bankruptcy Nutshell is a valuable resource for municipal attorneys and officials, law students, and journalists covering chapter 9 cases. Chapter topics include the history of municipal bankruptcy legislation, constitutional challenges to such legislation, eligibility requirements for chapter 9 relief, requirements for plan confirmation, and post-confirmation matters. The Nutshell also examines the chapter 9 specific rules on the automatic stay, pledged special revenues, rejection of collective bargaining agreements, and the avoiding powers. The Appendices include citations to legislative materials, a table containing a state-by-state list of the statutes authorizing chapter 9 relief, and retention-of-jurisdiction language from the Detroit and Stockton plans.

Representing the work of scores of bankruptcy judges and practitioners, Norton Bankruptcy Law and Practice offers step-by-step guidance for the entire bankruptcy process for Chapter 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, and 15 matters, as well as 500-plus practice forms.

The Rutter Group's four-volume California Practice Guide: Bankruptcy set is localized to the four California Bankruptcy Court districts. Written by top bankruptcy experts, it is a stand-alone resource for whatever chapter the case is filed under or converted to. Invaluable practice pointers, strategies, and tactics are included.

The Rutter Group's California Practice Guide: Enforcing Judgments and Debts provides thorough guidance on the law and procedure governing debt collection and the enforcement of judgments. Relevant caselaw, applicable statutes, and rules are cited in the development of each topic and procedure. The practice guide includes sample forms that adhere to the latest rules, with comments and suggestions for their use. Our "practice pointers" include proven strategies, tactics, and time-saving tips to guide counsel.

Learn from the experts on both sides of this critical area of law. Obtain powerful judgments—and then collect on them! Or discover effective defense strategies and how to respond to a judgment. Understand the traps, tricks, and regulations of collections practice.