Secondary Sources by Subject: Government Benefits

Provides the now standard framework by which workers’ compensation is organized and understood, discussions of the variations in state law and consequences. Contains a variety of local practices, grouping states that agree on a particular pattern of law and up-to-date, detailed case summaries for comparison of facts and holdings. Also provides a discussion about the interaction of workers’ compensation with other laws, for example the Americans with Disabilities Act, Social Security, and the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act.

Medicare and Medicaid Claims and Procedures guides you step-by-step through the Medicare and Medicaid claims processes, from initial claim to administrative and judicial appeals of claim denials.

This exhaustive manual is an indispensable guide for advocates who help veterans and their families obtain benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs. User-friendly, well-indexed, and packed with practical information, it includes sample forms and briefs, flowcharts, checklists, citations to legal authorities, and other documents designed to streamline the claims process and save you and your veteran client valuable time. Written by practicing lawyers at the National Veterans Legal Services Program, this manual contains valuable insight and analysis from a team of experts on the front line of veterans law. Use their first-hand experience fighting for veterans' rights and their insider's view of the Department of Veterans Affairs to obtain the benefits your client earned.

Provides up-to-date information and meticulous analysis of Social Security law and Medicare law as well as: Citations to controlling cases, pertinent statutory material, regulations, rulings, and agency manuals, Practice tips, cautions, illustrations, and observations. Also contains sample forms and the full text of selected provisions of the USCA and the CFR.

Medical Proof of Social Security Disability includes everything you need to present a comprehensive picture of a client's disability. It shows how to establish the requisite medical proof of a client claim using fundamental information such as anatomy and medical charts. In clear language, the text walks through the elements of proof of each of the Social Security listings.

This unique, all-in-one source offers pertinent medical analysis along with analysis of statutes, regulations, and case law, combined with practical advice, step-by-step guidance and numerous practice aids. . . in short, everything you need to effectively handle the constantly growing and ever-changing field of Social Security practice whether you are new to Social Security representation or a seasoned practitioner.

Figure out how to get retirement, disability, dependents, and survivors benefits, or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

The text guides you step by step through administrative procedure, from application to appeal, and describes sources for laws and regulations and where to check for recent changes. You'll also find forms, discussions of recent SSA amendments, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) changes, new rulings, and significant cases.

Social Security Disability Claims guides you through the disability claim process using the practice systems approach to managing claims.

Provides guidance of the claims process, from application to payment. Also contains comprehensive analysis regarding:
Regulations, Social Security rulings, acquiescence rulings, POMS, HALLEX, Dictionary of Occupational Titles, and caselaw.

All aspects of Social Security disability claims are covered in this title, from the first interview through an appeal to federal court.

Content ranges from an introduction to Social Security law to expert analysis of complex issues, such as:
Sequential evaluation of disability, Medical criteria for evaluating pain, Determining disability, Special due process requirements, Evaluation of particular impairments, and Substantial evidence. Research aids include a table of cases, a table of statutes, and a table of regulations.

Offers step-by-step guidance to handling claims. With it you'll learn how to handle a disability claim from the first interview through appeals and attorney fees. The book also offers in-depth analysis of medical proof requirements for determining specific disabilities and provides more than 80 forms.

This book is intended to provide a broad overview of Social Security law and practice. It covers the two main titles of the Social Security Act: Old Age, Survivors and Disability Insurance (OASDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI), with a special focus on the disability provisions of both programs.