Secondary Sources by Subject: Civil Procedure

Guidance on drafting motions during and post-trial and on preparing jury instructions.

Guidance on drafting pleadings, motions, discovery, and closing arguments.

Guidance on drafting pleadings and pre-trial motions for California federal courts.

Guidance on drafting pleadings and pre-trial motions for California federal courts. The library owns the California & Ninth Circuit edition, and Westlaw offers both the California & Ninth Circuit Edition and a national edition.

Guidance on drafting appellate briefs and motions in the Ninth Circuit.

Guidance on drafting federal civil pleadings, motions, and briefs.

Guidance on drafting pleadings, motions, discovery requests, and jury instructions for federal courts.

General guidance on drafting pleadings and motions, with research references to relevant forms. Covers federal civil and criminal procedure, arranged chronologically and by specific issue.

Detailed guidance on drafting pleadings and motions. Covers federal civil and criminal procedure, organized by relevant court rules.

Guidance on drafting pleadings and motions. Covers federal civil procedure, organized by relevant court rules.

Guidance on drafting pleadings and motions. Covers federal criminal procedure, organized by relevant court rules.

Detailed guidance on drafting briefs, petitions, and motions for the U.S. Supreme Court.

Comprehensive guide, arranged chronologically from preliminary planning through appeal. Guidance on drafting pleadings, motions, and appellate briefs, including sample forms.

Guidance on drafting writs in California superior, appellate, and Supreme courts.

Basic guide to attaching property in California civil litigation. Includes a small number of sample California judicial council forms in an appendix.

Comprehensive guide, arranged chronologically from establishing an attorney-client relationship through appeal. Guidance on drafting pleadings, motions, and appellate briefs.

Guidance on drafting civil motions before and during trial.

Guidance on drafting client communications, pleadings, and pre-trial motions. Includes extensive forms, listed at the end under "Table of Forms."

Guidance on drafting summary judgment motions.

Guidance on providing service and proof of service. Print only CEB guide.

Basic guide to anti-SLAPP motions. Print only CEB guide.

Guidance on drafting client communications, pleadings, pre-trial motions, and settlements.

Guidance on meeting with clients and drafting pleadings, pre-trial motions, and settlements.

Guidance for judges on pre-trial civil procedure by the California Center for Judicial Education & Research.

Motions in limine (motions to suppress or admit evidence) arranged by topic.

Guidance on conducting and opposing criminal discovery in California state court. Includes a small number of forms in an appendix.

Guide to organizing and managing the discovery process in California civil litigation.

Detailed guidance on conducting and preparing clients for depositions.

Guide to conducting discovery in California family court. Includes some forms. All forms are listed at the end under "Table of Forms."

Basic guide to conducting depositions in California civil litigation.

Basic guide to drafting discovery motions in California civil litigation. Includes a small number of forms in an appendix.

Basic guide to handling subpoenas in California civil litigation. Includes a small number of forms in an appendix.

Guidance on conducting discovery in California civil litigation, including depositions, interrogatories, and requests for documents, electronic evidence, and mental and physical examinations. Includes a small number of forms in an appendix.

Guidance for judges on discovery by the California Center for Judicial Education & Research.

Guide to conducting discovery in California civil court, including many forms, listed at the end under "Table of Forms."

Guidance on the law and strategy of depositions and other forms of discovery. Forms are included at the end of subsections in Division III: Methods of Civil Discovery.

Guidance on drafting legally permissible discovery requests and objecting to impermissible discovery requests. Provides sample citations to legal authorities justifying or objecting to discovery requests.

Guide to conducting discovery in California civil court, including forms listed at the end of each chapter.

Guidance on filing motions before, during, and after trial and on preparing jury instructions and deposition questions.

Guidance on filing motions during and after trial and on preparing jury instructions.

Guidance on filing motions during and after trial and on preparing jury instructions.

Guidance for judges on civil procedure during trial by the California Center for Judicial Education & Research.

Guidance on drafting post-trial and appellate motions, appellate briefs, and settlements on appeal.

Guidance on drafting and filing pleadings and motions on appeal.

Guidance for judges on civil procedure after trial by the California Center for Judicial Education & Research.